Yury Estrin Receives Thomson Reuters Citation Award 2015

Every three years, on the basis of the data on citations of scientific papers, Thomson Reuters selects outstanding Australian researchers and their teams, who have made a significant contribution to one of the eleven areas of science, including in the fields of Engineering, Social Sciences, and Humanities.

Professor Yury Estrin has received this year an award, which is given in the field of technical sciences. The award is related to his research on severe plastic deformation of materials.

We congratulate Yury Estrin on this prestigious achievement!

Yury Estrin is the head of the laboratory of Hybrid Nanostructured Materials at NUST MISIS, a winner of a RF Government mega-grant, director of the Center for Hybrid Materials at Monash University in Australia, Professor of the Department of Materials Science at Monash University, and Honorary Doctor of Sciences of the Russian Academy of Sciences.

Yury Estrin is one of the most famous experts in Physical Metallurgy. He owns a classic work on the modeling of the strength, ductility, and mechanical properties of nanomaterials. He is one of the initiators of a new approach to engineering materials using geometric principles and the author of numerous papers on various aspects of modern materials.

For achievements in these areas Professor Estrin was made a member of the Australian Academy of Sciences and an honorary doctor of the Russian Academy of Sciences as well as such awards as the Prize of Alexander von Humboldt, the Prize of Staudinger-Durrera of the Swiss Federal Technical High School in Tsyurihe, among others. He was named a world-class professor by the Korean Ministry of Education, Science and Technology, and others.

Professor Estrin is the author of about 440 papers in referred journals and conference proceedings and 10 patents. His Hirsch citation index is h = 47 for the Web of Science, and is 45 in Scopus. His name is included in the list of the most cited authors in the field of Materials Science (ISI Thomson’s Highly Cited list).