NUST MISIS Professor — Winner of the Scopus Awards Russia 2018

Professor Anvar Zakhidov from NUST MISIS is one of the most cited Russian scientists according to Scopus. The information & analytical company Elsevier, which specializes in science and medicine, announced the names of the most cited scientists according to Scopus’s abstracts and citations from the peer-reviewed scientific literature database. The list includes 19 Russian scientists.

During the Scopus Awards Russia 2018 ceremony held in Moscow, Russian scientists from five different categories were announced. The contribution of each scientist to the development of science was evaluated according to Scopus — the largest single database of abstracts and citations of peer-reviewed scientific literature — which, in 2018 alone was accessed by over 1,300 scientific & educational organizations in Russia as part of the national subscription project.

For the first time in the Award’s history, there was a category for “contributions to the most actively developing scientific topic in the world”, according to the SciVal analytical system. The topic “High-Performance Photovoltaic Cells Based on Perovskites”, and Professor Anvar Zakhidov’s infrastructure project “High-Performance, Flexible, Photovoltaic Devices Based in Hybrid Perovskites” were announced the winner of this category.

“The award for the ‘most prominent topic for projects implemented over the past three years’ [honors] the Solar Energy project at NUST MISIS, which in my opinion, is surely in the TOP-50 world leaders in materials science already. Here, together with Sergey Didenko, Denis Kuznetsov, Danila Saranin and Artur Ishteev, we have started to work on creating innovative perovskite solar cells on flexible substrates, and we have quickly created a young, energetic and strong research team and built a laboratory. Now, the project has expanded and attracted Professor Aldo Di Carlo at the expenses of the MegaGrant, and the team is working on creating stable industrial prototypes”, said Professor Zakhidov.

In addition, Igor Tantlevsky (Saint Petersburg State University), Galina Shirokova (Saint Petersburg State University), Svetlana Shalneva (National Medical Research Center for Preventive Medicine), Viktor Lepnitsky (Samsung Artificial Intelligence Center, Skolkovo Institute of Science and Technology), Tatyana Khavenson (HSE), Ruslan Kaibyshev (Belgorod State University), Alexander Savekyev (HSE), Suleyman Allakhverdiev (Institute of Fundamental Problems of Biology, RAS), Vladimir Petrov (Logunov Institute for High Energy Physics), Evgeny Osin (HSE) and Vladimir Ivantsov (Sochi State University) were included in the list of the most highly cited scientists in 11 subject categories.

Additionally, in a special joint nomination with Rosatom, Pavel Kirillov (Leypunsky Physics and Energy Institute) and Vadim Kurulin (RFNC-VNIIEF) were also awarded.

The Scopus Award is Elsevier’s global initiative aimed at encouraging scientists’ work, drawing focus to scientists and popularizing scientific activity among young scientists.